The short answer
There is no single best SACCO software in Uganda: the right choice depends on what your SACCO must hold in one ledger and how members pay in. From each vendor's own website, read on 10 October 2026: Ensibuuko's MOBIS lists savings, shares and dividends in one ledger, with mobile money and USSD; Wakandi CAMS lists a member view of loans, savings and shares, mobile money, USSD and automated UMRA reports; Ssentezo publishes yearly plans from UGX 900,000 and Nfunayo monthly plans from UGX 49,000; and Lendbox runs the loan side only and says it does not run deposit accounts.
Growth Informer Software Services in Kampala builds one of the options, the Growth Informer Loan and SACCO Management System, configured per SACCO and owned by the SACCO. We have no SACCO or lending clients yet, so a rented product is the better choice if you must go live within weeks, your products are standard, or you want a supplier that can give you other SACCOs to phone. A build is worth a quote when your by-laws, share rules or dividend formula do not fit a template, or when per-user and per-transaction fees will keep growing with your membership.
SACCO management software comparison on ten criteria
Every vendor detail in this comparison was read on that vendor's own website on 10 October 2026. "Not stated" means the pages we read did not say, which is not the same as missing, so ask the vendor. Our own column describes what we scope in a build, not a product you can log into today. Prices and features change, so confirm current terms before you sign.
| Criterion | Growth Informer Loan and SACCO Management System | Rented products, as stated on their own sites |
|---|---|---|
| Member savings and shares | Compulsory, voluntary and fixed savings as separate products, plus a share register you can print for the AGM. Member balances reconcile to a double-entry ledger. | Ensibuuko MOBIS lists savings, deposits, loans, shares, dividends and fees in one ledger. Wakandi lists a member overview of loans, savings and shares. Ssentezo lists savings accounts and does not mention shares. Nfunayo's features page lists no savings or share accounts. Lendbox says it does not run deposit accounts. |
| Loans | Loans linked to guarantors, with pledged savings or shares held against them. Reducing balance interest by default; schedules, arrears and penalties follow your rules. | All five list loans and repayments. Ensibuuko adds PAR tracking and provisioning, Nfunayo guarantor records and amortisation schedules, Wakandi a configurable underwriting process for loan approval, Ssentezo collateral records. |
| Dividends | Year-end dividends on shares and interest on savings, worked by the formula your members approve, with a distribution list. | Only Ensibuuko's MOBIS page lists dividends. Not stated on the Wakandi, Ssentezo, Nfunayo or Lendbox pages we read. |
| Mobile money | MTN and Airtel deposits and repayments matched to the member account; approved withdrawals and disbursements sent back to the same numbers, through collection accounts opened in your SACCO's name. | Ensibuuko: mobile money ready for MTN, Airtel Money and M-Pesa. Wakandi: contributions by cash, bank or mobile money, and integration with banks and mobile network wallets. Ssentezo: a wallet to collect and deliver money through Mobile Money and bank transfers, from as low as 2.5% a transaction. Lendbox: does not connect to MTN or Airtel, so officers post repayments by hand or in bulk from an Excel template. Nfunayo: not stated. |
| USSD | A USSD menu for balances, mini statements and loan status, for members without smartphones. | Listed by Ensibuuko, Wakandi and Ssentezo. Not stated by Nfunayo or Lendbox. |
| Offline branches | We do not scope an offline mode. Screens are designed for slow data on mid-range Android phones, not for no signal. | Lendbox says its app does not capture offline and sync later. Ensibuuko's home page says it works offline, but its MOBIS page does not say how. Not stated by the others. |
| Reports the SACCO files | Trial balance, loan portfolio, arrears ageing, member balances, and capital and liquidity figures from the ledger, laid out to your templates. Filing stays your SACCO's obligation. | Ensibuuko lists regulator-ready reports at branch and head office level. Wakandi lists automated regulatory reports, and its Uganda site names UMRA reports. Ssentezo lists automated reports for compliance, board and investors. Nfunayo lists arrears, collection performance and loan portfolio reports. Lendbox lists ageing and portfolio at risk, and says it does not file the return. |
| Data export | Reports export to Excel or PDF. The data is yours, and the source code is handed over. | Nfunayo lists export of reports and data to Excel or CSV. Lendbox's FAQ says clients, loans, transactions and the full ledger stay exportable while you hold an account. Ensibuuko lists compliance-ready exports, formats not stated. Not stated by Wakandi or Ssentezo, so ask in writing. |
| Rent or own | Own. Built once for your SACCO, with the source code and the data handed over. | Rent. Wakandi, Ssentezo, Nfunayo and Lendbox sell monthly or yearly plans, and Ensibuuko quotes on request. None of the pages we read offers you the source code. Ssentezo says it hosts and maintains the system for you. |
| Support | WhatsApp +256 702 946 946 from the first scoping call. Hosting, SMS and support after handover are running costs you budget for. | Wakandi says support is part of the package, with no support fee. Ssentezo lists free support, onboarding and training. Nfunayo and Lendbox give priority support on their higher plans. Ensibuuko lists implementation playbooks and training for frontline teams. |
| Published price | , one fixed quote before work starts, paid 50/25/25. | Nfunayo: UGX 49,000 to 299,000 a month, or UGX 490,000 to 2,990,000 a year. Ssentezo: UGX 900,000 to 5,000,000 a year by number of users, plus a UGX 500,000 onboarding fee once. Lendbox: UGX 98,000 to 735,000 a month, shown at an indicative rate and billed in US dollars by card. Wakandi: a monthly subscription plus transaction fees when money moves, no amounts on the pages we read. Ensibuuko: not published. |
These are the five rented products whose own websites we could read and check. Other names circulate in listicles; we left out any we could not check on a vendor site rather than copy a claim.
SACCO system providers in Uganda, one by one
Ensibuuko MOBIS: broad coverage, price on request
Ensibuuko's MOBIS page describes a core banking stack for deposit-taking micro lenders, Tier 4 institutions and SACCOs: savings, deposits, loans, shares, dividends and fees in one ledger, an Android app, USSD for feature phones, agent banking for cash in and cash out, and mobile money readiness for MTN, Airtel Money and M-Pesa. It publishes no price and asks you to request a demo. It suits a larger SACCO that wants agents and several member channels from one supplier. Its site quotes institution counts in the thousands, so ask for two SACCOs of your size that you can phone.
Wakandi CAMS: mobile money and USSD, with a fee when money moves
Wakandi Uganda has an office on Kira Road in Kampala. Its Uganda site lists savings, loans, payments, accounting, teller functionality for cash, integration with banks and mobile network wallets, and automated UMRA reports; its CAMS features page adds iPhone and Android apps and USSD codes for members without smartphones. Pricing is a single monthly subscription plus transaction fees when money moves, with no setup fee and no support fee. We found no fee amounts on the pages we read on 10 October 2026, so ask for the fee schedule in writing and model it at your own monthly volumes.
Ssentezo: hosted, priced by number of users
Ssentezo, a product of Thinkx Software in Kampala, sells four yearly plans in UGX: Mini at UGX 900,000 for 1 user, Starter at 1,800,000 for 3, Growth at 3,000,000 for 7 and Pro at 5,000,000 for 20, each with unlimited clients, savings accounts, loans and transactions, plus a UGX 500,000 onboarding fee once. It hosts and maintains the system for you. Its pages list savings accounts, loans, reports, collateral records, a wallet for Mobile Money and bank transfers, and a USSD option for basic phones. Share accounts and dividends are not stated. It suits a small SACCO that mainly needs savings, loans and reports at a known yearly cost; count your staff users first, because users set the plan.
Nfunayo: loan tracking with a free trial
Nfunayo sells loan management software to Ugandan lenders and names SACCOs among the lenders it is built for. It publishes three plans in UGX: Go at 49,000 a month for 500+ customers, up to 5 staff and 1 branch; Plus at 119,000 for 5,000 customers, 50 staff and 10 branches; and Pro at 299,000 with no caps. Paying yearly costs ten months' fees. It offers a free trial with no credit card and lists export to Excel or CSV. Savings and share accounts are not stated. It suits a SACCO whose first problem is loan tracking and arrears, while savings and shares stay in another system.
Lendbox: loans only, billed in dollars
Lendbox's Uganda page names SACCOs, Tier 4 microfinance institutions and licensed money lenders as its users, and is explicit that it runs the loan side, not deposit accounts, so savings and share registers stay in whatever system you keep them in. It does not connect to MTN or Airtel, so officers post repayments one by one or in bulk from an Excel template. Plans run from 1 branch and 1 staff user to 5 branches and 10, start with a 30 day free trial and are billed in US dollars by card. It suits a SACCO that keeps savings elsewhere and wants clean loan books and arrears reports.
If you want a build rather than a rental
MTL ICT Solutions, a Kampala software house, lists a SACCO and loan management system with member management, loans, savings and reporting, and offers a free, no-obligation quote. It publishes no price. Ask it, and ask us, for a written specification before you compare costs.
Our own offer, stated plainly
The Growth Informer loan and SACCO system is the loan, savings, shares and SACCO system we configure and build for each lender. For a SACCO we scope member accounts and savings products, a share register, year-end dividends and savings interest, guarantor-linked loans, MTN and Airtel Mobile Money in and out, a member app, USSD for basic phones, and reports from one double-entry ledger. The module detail is on our SACCO management system page. A SACCO system typically costs , depending on members, products, channels and reports.
What we do not have
We have no SACCO or lending clients yet. We have not shipped a production SACCO or loan system for a client, so we cannot name a SACCO for you to phone. The fintech work we can point to is our own: Moyo Pay, a dual-currency wallet on a double-entry ledger with Mobile Money and USSD; Growth Informer Business, our live cloud POS, inventory and business platform; and Karibu, a travel SaaS. Separately, our portfolio lists 37 live website and app builds.
What you get instead of references
- A fixed quote before work starts, paid 50/25/25, so half the fee is paid only as the build moves forward.
- A written specification you can check line by line before you pay anything.
- The source code and your data belong to you, whatever happens to any supplier, including us.
The drawbacks, plainly
A build costs more up front than a rented plan and takes weeks, not days. There is no offline mode. Hosting, SMS and support after handover are running costs you budget for. Filing your SACCO's returns stays your obligation; the system supplies the figures. If your current plan renews in the next few months, ask for the quote before you pay another year, so the comparison rests on two real numbers.
When a rented product is the better choice
Start with a rented plan when any of these is true:
- You need to be live within weeks. A subscription can start this month, and Nfunayo and Lendbox offer free trials. A build needs scoping, building and testing against your real products first.
- Your products are standard. Plain savings accounts, a share register and loans on a normal schedule fit a template without bending your by-laws.
- You want references. Vendors with other SACCOs on their books can point you to people to phone. We cannot yet.
- You need something we do not scope. Ensibuuko lists agent banking, for example. If agents handle your cash, say so before choosing anything.
- Your budget is small. A small SACCO on a published yearly plan can pay less over three years than a build costs.
Ask for a build quote when your by-laws, share rules or dividend formula do not fit a template, when per-user, per-transaction or per-member fees would keep rising as you grow, or when you want the source code and the member data in your own hands. In that case the build has to earn its place through fit and ownership, not through a lower price.
Put every option on one three year sheet: onboarding, 36 months of fees, the plan tier you will need at your planned users and branches, SMS and mobile money charges, hosting and your own staff time. Two examples from prices published on 10 October 2026: Ssentezo's Growth plan is UGX 3,000,000 a year for 7 users plus UGX 500,000 onboarding, so UGX 9,500,000 over three years before any wallet fees; Nfunayo's Plus plan is UGX 1,190,000 a year, so UGX 3,570,000 over three years, but it holds no savings or share accounts, so add the cost of whatever keeps those. Our guide to custom vs off-the-shelf loan management software walks through the decision.
This page covers SACCOs only. Money lenders and microfinance institutions are compared on our page on the best loan management software in Uganda.
Questions to ask before you sign with anyone
Take this list into every demo and trial, including ours. A vendor that answers each point in writing is easier to trust than one with the longest feature page.
- Load your hardest product. Ask the vendor to set up your real savings, share and loan products under your own by-laws, not a sample.
- Run a year end. Ask to see dividends on shares and interest on savings worked out by your formula, with the distribution list printed.
- Watch mobile money both ways. See a real MTN and Airtel deposit land on the right member without anyone matching it by hand, and a withdrawal or disbursement go out. A logo on a page is not a flow you have watched.
- Ask what happens with no signal. Find out whether a branch can keep working, or whether officers write up meetings afterwards.
- Get export in writing. Ask whether you can export members, savings, shares, loans and the ledger to Excel or CSV at any time, and what happens to your data if you stop paying.
- Test the arrears figures. Check a demo report against our free loan portfolio calculator. Portfolio at risk counts the whole outstanding balance of a late loan, not only the missed instalment.
- Price it at double your size. Ask what the bill is at twice your members, users and transactions, and what three years cost in total.
- Phone a reference. Ask for a SACCO of your size that uses the product, and phone it.
The Uganda Microfinance Regulatory Authority (UMRA), set up under the Tier 4 Microfinance Institutions and Money Lenders Act, 2016, names savings and credit cooperatives in the sector it oversees. Ask any vendor which UMRA returns its reports are laid out for, and check one against the last return your SACCO filed. Filing stays the SACCO's obligation, whatever any software claims; what the system must give you is the figures behind each return, in a form you can check.
Frequently asked questions
What is the best SACCO software in Uganda?
There is no single best option. From vendor websites read on 10 October 2026: Ensibuuko's MOBIS lists savings, shares, dividends, USSD and mobile money in one ledger; Wakandi CAMS lists a member view of loans, savings and shares, mobile money, USSD and automated UMRA reports; Ssentezo is hosted and priced in UGX by number of users; Nfunayo is loan-first with a free trial; and Lendbox covers loans only. Growth Informer builds the Growth Informer Loan and SACCO Management System per SACCO, owned by the SACCO, but has no SACCO clients yet.
What is the price of SACCO software in Uganda?
Published prices read on 10 October 2026: Nfunayo UGX 49,000 to 299,000 a month; Ssentezo UGX 900,000 to 5,000,000 a year by number of users, plus a UGX 500,000 onboarding fee; Lendbox UGX 98,000 to 735,000 a month at an indicative rate, billed in US dollars. Wakandi charges a monthly subscription plus transaction fees, with no amounts on the pages we read, and Ensibuuko publishes no price. A Growth Informer SACCO system typically costs on a fixed quote paid 50/25/25, and you own the code and data. Compare every option over three years.
Should a SACCO rent or build its software?
Rent when you must be live within weeks, your products are standard, you want references from other SACCOs, or your budget is small. Build when your by-laws, share rules or dividend formula do not fit a template, when per-user or per-transaction fees would keep growing with your membership, or when you want the source code and member data in your own hands. Price both on one three year sheet before you decide.
Which SACCO software supports mobile money and USSD in Uganda?
On their own websites, Ensibuuko lists mobile money readiness for MTN and Airtel Money and USSD for feature phones, Wakandi lists mobile money contributions and USSD codes, and Ssentezo lists a Mobile Money and bank wallet and a USSD option. Lendbox says it does not connect to MTN or Airtel, and Nfunayo states neither. For any vendor, ask to watch a real deposit and a real withdrawal on both networks.
Does Growth Informer have SACCO clients?
No. We have not shipped a production SACCO or loan system for a client, so we cannot offer a client to phone. Our fintech proof is our own work: Moyo Pay, a dual-currency wallet on a double-entry ledger with Mobile Money and USSD, and Growth Informer Business, our live cloud POS, inventory and business platform. You get a written specification and a fixed quote before you pay, and you own the source code and data.