The short answer
There is no single best loan management software in Uganda. The right pick depends on how many branches and staff users you run, whether MTN and Airtel must sit inside the system, and how much control you want over the code and the data. From each vendor's own website, checked on 13 Sep 2026:
- A published price and a free trial: Lendbox, from UGX 95,000 a month for 1 branch and 1 staff user up to UGX 705,000 a month for 5 branches and 10 staff users, with a 30 day free trial.
- MTN and Airtel disbursement, USSD and BoU and UMRA reports listed on the page: AcoLoan by Acolyte Technologies, Starter from UGX 190,000 a month with setup waived.
- A free plan to test digital lending: Lendsqr, with a free plan and paid plans at USD 200 and USD 500 a month on its global pricing page.
- A Windows desktop system on per-user licences: Loan Performer, from USD 1,107 in the first year for a single user.
- SACCOs, MFIs and savings groups: Mobis by Ensibuuko, cloud based, price on request.
- Talk to a team first: Plug in Kampala, MTL ICT Solutions and Xonib REQUOVA publish no price, so ask each for a written quote.
Disclosure: Growth Informer Software Services builds custom loan systems and is one of the nine options in the table below. We have not yet shipped a loan system for a client, so there is no live client demo we can show you. A custom build is worth pricing when your products or integrations do not fit a plan, or when three years of licence, branch and user fees would come close to the cost of owning the system outright.
Why we wrote this, and how we checked
On 13 Sep 2026, Bing's AI answer for "loan management software uganda" listed Lendbox, Nfunayo, Loan Performer, Xonib, AcoLoan and Plug. The sources behind it were a list article from 2020 and one vendor's own blog. Six years is a long time in lending software: several of those vendors now publish prices, and some have added mobile money and USSD. So we opened each vendor's current website on the same day and wrote down only what it says.
How we checked. Where a vendor shows a price, we quote it with the date. Where no price is public, the table says "not published". Where a feature is not mentioned on the page we read, the table says "not stated", which means unconfirmed, not missing. Lendsqr and Loan Performer publish prices in US dollars on global pricing pages, so those figures are not Uganda specific. Nfunayo is not in the table: on 13 Sep 2026 we found no vendor website at nfunayo.com and no product page in search results, so we had nothing current to compare.
Our interest. Growth Informer is a Kampala software company, and custom loan systems are something we sell. That makes us a participant, not a neutral referee. So no vendor is criticised here, every option gets a fair "best for", and our own row lists the downsides as plainly as the upsides. Prices and plans change: confirm current terms on each vendor's site before you sign.
Loan management software in Uganda compared
Nine options, eight columns. The pricing column quotes each vendor's own published figures with the date checked. Those are their prices, not ours. The custom build by Growth Informer is the last row.
| Option | Deployment | Pricing model and published price | Mobile money disbursement and collection | Borrower app or USSD | Reporting support | Data ownership and exit | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lendbox | Cloud | Monthly plans from UGX 95,000 (Basic, 1 branch, 1 staff user) to UGX 705,000 (Enterprise, 5 branches, 10 staff users); 30 day free trial (checked 13 Sep 2026) | Not stated | Android and iOS apps and a web portal listed | Not stated | FAQ says data is exportable; ask for the format | Small lenders with up to 5 branches who want a published price and a trial first |
| AcoLoan (Acolyte Technologies) | Not stated | Starter from UGX 190,000 a month with setup waived; larger setups UGX 3,000,000 to 30,000,000 by institution size, licence UGX 400,000 to 1,900,000 a month (checked 13 Sep 2026) | MTN and Airtel disbursement listed; SMS repayment reminders | Member app and USSD channel listed | BoU, UMRA and PAR reports listed | Data migration and 12 months of support listed; exit terms not stated | SACCOs and lenders who want USSD and regulator report formats named up front |
| Mobis by Ensibuuko | Cloud | Not published; demo on request (checked 13 Sep 2026) | MTN Mobile Money and Airtel Money shown as integration partners | Mobile app and USSD listed | Automated reporting listed | Not stated | SACCOs, MFIs and village savings groups |
| Loan Performer | Windows desktop client; web app sold as an add-on | Per-user licence: single user USD 1,107 first year then USD 207 a year; 20 users USD 3,690 first year then USD 690 a year; free demo (checked 13 Sep 2026) | Not stated; API and SMS sold as add-ons | Customer portal sold as an add-on | Branch-level reporting listed | Ask where data sits for the desktop and web versions | Institutions that want a Windows desktop package, with licence rebates from 2 branches |
| Lendsqr | Cloud | Free plan; Pro USD 200 and Business USD 500 a month; Enterprise custom (global pricing page, checked 13 Sep 2026) | Not stated on the Uganda page | Web, mobile, USSD and API channels listed | Dashboards and reporting listed | Not stated | Lenders testing a digital lending product with little upfront spend |
| MTL ICT Solutions | Not stated | Not published; free quote offered (checked 13 Sep 2026) | Mobile money named as an integration it can do | Not stated | Reporting listed | Not stated | SACCOs that want member, savings and loan records from a local software house |
| Xonib REQUOVA | Not stated | Not published for REQUOVA (checked 13 Sep 2026) | Not stated | Not stated | Real-time operational reporting listed | Not stated | Organisations that need loan requests and approvals alongside other internal requests |
| Plug (Kampala) | Not stated | Not published; 30 minute discovery call (checked 13 Sep 2026) | Disbursement to bank or mobile money, with automatic repayment tracking listed | Digital applications by web or mobile listed | PAR and NPL tracking listed | Not stated | Lenders who want a Kampala team to scope the setup with them |
| Custom build by Growth Informer | Cloud by default; movable to your own server because you own the code | MTN MoMo and Airtel Money built around your disbursement and repayment flow | Borrower app, web portal or USSD, scoped to your need | Reports built around the returns you file; filing stays your obligation | You own the source code and data outright | Lenders with unusual products or integrations who want no per-loan, per-user or per-branch fees |
Our row shows a fixed-quote range because a custom system is priced on scope, not on users or branches. The quote is agreed in writing before work starts.
What each option is good at
If you want to start this month on a published price
Lendbox's plans are capped by branches and staff users: Basic covers 1 branch and 1 user, Business 2 branches and 3 users, Growth 3 and 6, Enterprise 5 and 10. Count your loan officers before you pick a plan, because a second branch moves you up a tier. Use the 30 day trial to load your real products, not the samples. AcoLoan's Starter plan waives setup; for larger institutions its page quotes setup and licence ranges, asks for 60% to start and 40% on completion, and lists data migration from Excel, old software or paper records.
If you want a free or cheap way to test digital lending
Lendsqr's free plan covers loans, decision models, disbursements and a customer web app. Team management and approval workflows sit on the Pro plan, and a white label mobile app on the Business plan costs extra. Its page lists web, mobile, USSD and API channels. Ask how mobile money disbursement works in Uganda specifically, because the Uganda page we read did not say.
If you want a desktop system with per-user licences
Loan Performer sells a Windows client licensed by the number of users, with a lower yearly fee after the first year and a 35% licence rebate for 2 to 5 branches or 40% for 6 or more. The web app, customer portal, API and SMS are add-ons at extra cost, so price the add-ons you actually need before comparing it with a cloud plan.
If you want a team to walk you through it
Mobis by Ensibuuko is built for SACCOs, MFIs and savings groups, with MTN and Airtel shown as partners and a mobile app and USSD listed. Plug in Kampala runs a 30 minute discovery call, lists PAR and NPL tracking, and says most teams go live in 2 to 4 weeks. MTL ICT Solutions offers a free quote for its SACCO and loan management system. Xonib's REQUOVA lists loan applications and approvals as one of five workflows, next to requisitions, leave, stores and recruitment; ask on a call whether it also keeps repayment schedules and a loan ledger.
If none of them fits how you lend
Some lenders run products that standard plans handle awkwardly, such as salary loans recovered through employer deductions, or need the loan book connected to a savings, accounting or payment system they already use. That is the case for a custom build, covered in the last section, including when you should not choose it.
How to choose: a checklist before you sign
Take this list into every demo and trial, including ours. A vendor that answers each point clearly, in writing, is easier to trust than one with the longest feature page.
- Loan products and interest methods. List every product you sell now and plan to sell next year: flat or reducing balance, daily, weekly or monthly instalments, processing fees, penalties, grace periods, top-ups and rescheduling. Ask the vendor to set up your hardest product live, not a sample one.
- Reducing balance interest if you are a licensed money lender. Regulation 21 of the Tier 4 Microfinance Institutions and Money Lenders (Money Lenders) Regulations, 2018 says interest is computed on the monthly outstanding balance of the principal, and the lender must disclose the method to the borrower. Legal Notice No. 21 of 2024 also caps money lenders at 2.8% a month, or 33.6% a year. The test takes two minutes: disburse a test loan, post a part payment against principal, and check that next month's interest falls. Confirming what your licence requires is your obligation. Our page on money lending software in Uganda works through a reducing balance schedule.
- MTN MoMo and Airtel Money, both ways. Ask to watch a real disbursement and a real repayment on both networks, and see how a repayment lands on the right loan without someone matching it by hand. A logo on a feature page is not the same as a flow you have watched run. Our mobile money integration guide explains what sits behind it.
- Reporting for UMRA or Bank of Uganda returns. UMRA licenses and supervises Tier 4 institutions, which include money lenders and SACCOs; Bank of Uganda supervises Tier 1 to 3 institutions. Filing correct returns is the lender's obligation, whatever the software claims. What you need from the system is the figures behind them: portfolio at risk, arrears ageing, disbursements and collections by period. Regulation 25 also lets a borrower ask for the outstanding principal, interest payable and every payment received with its date, so the system should print that statement on demand. Check a demo report against our free portfolio at risk calculator and our PAR calculation guide.
- Data export and exit. Ask, in writing, whether you can export borrowers, loans, schedules, repayments and the ledger as CSV or Excel at any time, and what happens to your data if you stop paying.
- Support in Kampala. Find out who answers when a disbursement fails on a Saturday morning, whether someone can train your loan officers in person, and how quickly fixes arrive.
- Total cost over three years. Add setup, 36 months of licence, the plan tier you will need at the branch and staff count you plan to reach, add-ons, SMS, mobile money charges, data migration and training. Price it at next year's book, not today's.
Three things move the three year number most on the pages we checked: tier jumps when you add a branch or users (Lendbox), add-ons priced separately from the licence (Loan Performer, Lendsqr), and a one-off setup fee on top of the monthly licence for larger institutions (AcoLoan). Put every option, including a custom quote, on the same 36 month sheet before you decide.
Custom build by Growth Informer: honest pros and cons
We build loan management systems for Ugandan lenders on a fixed quote agreed before work starts, paid 50/25/25. What we build is the Growth Informer Loan and SACCO Management System, configured around your own loan products. A custom loan system typically costs , depending on products, channels and reports. Here is the trade-off as plainly as we can put it.
Pros
- You own the code and the data. The source code and your loan book belong to you, so you can host it where you like and leave any supplier, including us.
- It fits unusual products and integrations. Salary loans recovered through employer deductions, group loans, seasonal schedules for farmers, asset finance with logbook and land title records, or a link to your savings or accounting system.
- No per-loan, per-user or per-branch fees. Opening a branch or hiring loan officers does not raise a licence bill. You still pay running costs such as hosting, SMS and mobile money transaction charges.
Cons
- Higher upfront cost. You pay for the build before a single loan goes through it, where a subscription spreads the cost month by month.
- A build takes weeks. A subscription can be running this week; a custom system needs scoping, building and testing with your real products first.
- No live client demo yet. We have not yet shipped a loan system for a client, so there is no lender we can send you to. What we can show is our own fintech work: Moyo Pay, a dual-currency wallet on a double-entry ledger with Mobile Money and USSD; Growth Informer Business, our live cloud POS, inventory and business platform; and Karibu, a travel SaaS. Our portfolio lists 37 live website and app builds.
When not to build custom
If you lend standard products, are still testing demand, or need to disburse through a system this month, start with a plan from the table. Custom makes sense when your products or integrations do not fit, or when three years of licence and tier fees approach the build cost. Our guide on custom vs off-the-shelf loan management software walks through that decision. The practical move: ask us for a fixed quote while your vendor trials and demos are still running, so the decision is made on two real numbers, not one.
Frequently asked questions
What is the best loan management software in Uganda?
There is no single best option. From vendor websites checked on 13 Sep 2026: Lendbox suits small lenders with up to 5 branches who want a published monthly price and a 30 day free trial; AcoLoan lists MTN and Airtel disbursement, USSD and BoU and UMRA reports; Mobis by Ensibuuko is a cloud system for SACCOs, MFIs and savings groups; Loan Performer is a Windows desktop package on per-user licences; Lendsqr has a free plan; and Plug, MTL ICT Solutions and Xonib REQUOVA quote on request. A custom build suits lenders with unusual products who want to own the code. Growth Informer builds custom systems and is one of the options compared.
How much does loan management software cost in Uganda?
Published prices checked on 13 Sep 2026: Lendbox from UGX 95,000 to 705,000 a month; AcoLoan Starter from UGX 190,000 a month, with larger setups of UGX 3,000,000 to 30,000,000 plus a licence of UGX 400,000 to 1,900,000 a month; Lendsqr free, then USD 200 or USD 500 a month; Loan Performer from USD 1,107 in the first year for one user. Mobis, Plug, MTL ICT Solutions and Xonib REQUOVA do not publish prices. A custom loan system from Growth Informer typically costs on a fixed quote paid 50/25/25, with no per-loan, per-user or per-branch fees. Compare every option on total cost over three years.
Can loan software in Uganda disburse and collect through MTN and Airtel?
Some systems list it. On 13 Sep 2026 AcoLoan's page listed MTN and Airtel disbursement, Ensibuuko showed MTN Mobile Money and Airtel Money as partners, and Plug listed mobile money disbursement with automatic repayment tracking. For any vendor, ask to watch a real disbursement and a real repayment on both networks, and check that repayments land on the right loan without manual matching.
Does the software file my UMRA or Bank of Uganda returns for me?
No. Filing correct returns is the lender's responsibility. UMRA supervises Tier 4 institutions such as money lenders and SACCOs, and Bank of Uganda supervises Tier 1 to 3 institutions. Good software produces the figures behind the returns, such as portfolio at risk, arrears ageing, disbursements and collections, and a borrower statement of principal, interest and payments. Check those reports against your own calculations before relying on them.
Has Growth Informer built a loan system for a lender before?
Not yet. We have not shipped a production loan system for a client, so we cannot offer a live client demo. Our fintech proof is our own work: Moyo Pay, a dual-currency wallet on a double-entry ledger with Mobile Money and USSD, and Growth Informer Business, our live cloud POS, inventory and business platform. Every client owns the source code and data, and the quote is fixed before work starts.